mmortals Is Not Immortal

Posted: March 20, 2012 in Entertaintment
Tags: ,

Immortals

The Greek empire takes center stage in the upcoming action flick Immortals. Starring Henry Cavill, Stephen Dorff, Isabel Lucas, Freida Pinto, Luke Evans, Kellan Lutz, John Hurt, and Mickey Rourke, Immortals seems to me like just a mash-up of Clash Of The Titans and 300. I never actually saw 300, and although Clash Of The Titans had awesome special effects and a gripping story, I was not very impressed. I don’t know why, but it just seemed to me like the studios copied the best parts of The Lord Of The Rings and Prince Of Persia: The Sands Of Time and gave them a hurried Greco-Roman twist. It seems like the minds behind Immortals have done the exact same thing. Maybe I’m just picky.

Regardless, the trailer to Immortals does appear to promise incredible effects, a grand storyline, and spectacular action. The war scenes do seem quite well-made. I must say; I’m a bit disappointed in the trailer. The first few times I watched it, the story didn’t make any sense. The trailer presents the movie as if it is an incredible action/fantasy/drama/war/myth epic. But I felt like the trailer broke the Number One rule of fantasy writers—The Suspension of Disbelief. I wanted to be impressed by this flick, but, I have to admit, it just seems like yet another Hollywood-ized mythology film meant to coax in adrenaline rush junkies to make a few bucks. Gosh, maybe I am a little picky… I simply believe that an artist should make his work powerful and creative. Immortals looks powerful, but is, from my perspective, anything but creative.

http://movierumornews.com

Leave a Reply

